“Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2” Review

I saw the movie twice and loved it even more the second time!  My first time was in IMAX 3D and the second in RealD 3D.  I do not understand why this movie is badly hated on.  I can understand why people do not think it is better than any other Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) movie, but saying that it is the worst is a bit of a stretch.  There is a lot of comedy in this movie.  It is not hard to find, but as the movie progressed, I believe it got more serious especially the third act.  If anyone complains about the comedy, then I hope they’re talking about Drax.  I felt like he had the most comedic part of the movie.  I am not blaming anything on Bautsita or the writers.  That is where I saw most of my laughter coming from; Groot coming in at second, and Rocket or Peter having third place.

Overall I rate Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 to be an 8.5/10, A-, and 5/5 Geek Motivation rating and to be the sixth best or most enjoyable MCU movie.

Spoiler Free Summary

We see Ego (Kurt Russell) and Meredith Quill (Laura Haddock) riding around in Missouri 1980 listening to Brandi (You’re a Fine Girl) by Looking Glass.  After that, the Guardians appear and are defending high-powered batteries from Abolisk, a giant space monster, that The Sovereign asked them to do.  It is Groot’s time to shine during this fight and starts the song called Mr. Blue Sky by Electric Light Orchestra.  It is one of the most enjoyable scenes yet it felt a little dragged out.

Cqe4xL1UEAA7Mb-
Abolisk v Guardians concept art

They are welcomed and thanked by Sovereign’s queen, Ayesha (Elizabeth Debicki).  They are people who are easily distracted, said by Quill, but Rocket does not hold anything back and gets the team in trouble.  The Sovereign’s give the Guardians Nebula (Karen Gillan) who was also after the batteries.

MV5BMTY5NTEyNzYwNV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNDMxNDczMTI@._V1_SX1777_CR0,0,1777,935_AL_.jpg
Elizabeth Debicki as Ayesha

Later, the Guardians are sought out after Ayesha’s bargain with Yondu (Michael Rooker) who had been kicked out of the Ravangers by Starkar Ogord (Sylvester Stallone).  Yondu and the rest go to find the Guardians but only capture Rocket, Groot, and Nebula on Berhert [sic].  Rocket is repairing the Milano that had crashed on the planet because he and Quill were arguing over who should be piloting the ship when they were fighting the Sovereign fleet.

Drax, Gamora, and Peter are already on Ego’s planet along with Mantis (Pom Klementieff).  Mantis introduces her empathy powers.  She is able to feel what another being is also feeling (love, humor, anger, sadness, etc.).

MV5BMjAxNzU1MTQ5MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMTQzMTIyMjI@._V1_SX1777_CR0,0,1777,935_AL_
Mantis using her powers on Quill

They arrive on Ego’s planet and we learn Quill’s genetic history.  He is what is called a Celestial. Ego says that he and Peter are immortal only if the light of the planet is continuously lit.  Ego started out only as a brain, and, over the course of his life, he grew stronger and smarter until his brain was covered and the planet’s surface was what it was like in the movie.

The CGI is done beautifully so kudos to the hard-working visual effects artists!!  This goes throughout the movie as well. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 has the second best visuals of the MCU.  I am also leaving room for Thor: The Dark World because I have not seen it in a while but remember being pleased with the visuals.

Points with Spoilers

 

  1. When I saw Guardians of the Galaxy (2014), I believed that Meredith Quill was infected by the alien being that impregnated her. This was only a hunch but I can now consider it fact since Ego gave her a brain tumor.  There was something about the sickness connection and Peter Quill that I thought was there.
  2. I was somewhat surprised by Ego being the main villain.  Once Mantis said she was scared, I figured out that this was not going to go down well with Quill and Ego.
  3. I got teary eyed with Yondu’s death the second time around.  The father-son relationship developed so much in mere seconds after they defeated Ego. Michael Rooker was fantastic, and I am sad to see his character go.
  4. Howard the Duck was one of the best cameos
  5. I loved the Stan Lee cameos as well! Knowing that The Watchers are out there made me RIDICULOUSLY happy!
  6. Adam Warlock is now a part of this franchise as well and many sources have indicated that he will be in Phase 4.
hqdefault.jpg
Stan Lee and The Watchers cameo in GOTGV2.
