A Furious Review

This movie was absolutely epic! There are so many great actors in this one. This one surpassed the previous movies in the high leveled explosions and car flips. Some of this can be seen in the trailers, but I recommend watching this movie to see how they come to that point.

I enjoyed the humor in this and was caught off guard by the amount. I think it was a nice way to make sure our minds were off of Paul Walker. It is hard to not think about him. It mostly hit me afterwards. I give the thank you’s to Tyrese Gibson, Scott Eastwood, Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson, Jason Statham, Kurt Russell, and the writers. These are the people who made me laugh throughout this film. The Rock and Statham are the last people you would imagine to give you a laugh or two, but their characters and what they were doing made it funny.

Charlize_Theron_WonderCon_2012_(Straighten_Crop).jpg
Charlize Theron

Charlize Theron is best, well-written female antagonist that I have ever seen on-screen! I absolutely hated her, but I consider that the greatest of complements for all of the writers. I enjoy those characters where, once you see the person or hear that person’s name, you have some amount of hatred boiled up inside. I think she is a great addition to the franchise. Her character will likely continue on through the ninth installment that will be released sometime in 2019.

 

My ratings

  1. Fast Five 9.0/10, A, Geek Motivation (GM)* rating 5/5
  2. Furious Seven 8.5/10, A, GM 5/5
  3. The Fast and the Furious 8.5/10, A-, GM 4/5
  4. The Fate of the Furious 8.5/10, B+, GM 4/5
  5. Fast and Furious 8.0/10, B, GM 4/5
  6. Furious Six 7.5/10, B-. GM 3/5
  7. The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift 7.0/10, C+, GM 3/5
  8. 2 Fast 2 Furious 6.5/10, C, GM 3/5

Minor Spoilers

Once Jason Statham’s character (Ian Shaw) I knew he would run out of bullets. That is too typical of any action movie that involves guns. It would have ended this franchise, more than likely, if he shot Cipher (Charlize Theron). It is not a big deal, but some originality would be nice.

The writers also mentioned Brian O’Connor (Paul Walker) a few times. In those moments, it was appropriate. Some might think that it was predictable at the end when Dom names his child after Brian, but I see it as a tribute which is what it is. The franchise is different now. They say that in Furious Seven, and this was the first full movie without him, and it felt off. RIP to the person who got me interested in this franchise. We all miss you Paul.

article-0-1BFB984600000578-107_634x374

* Geek motivation’s rating scale:

5- excellent film that leaves the viewer satisfied

4- good movie but a few flaws

3- same amount of positives and negatives

2-decent but could have been better

1- bad movie with a few positives

0- embarrassment of a movie

